Why is “Bitches Brew” Considered An Amazing Record?

Louis Barnes
5 min readFeb 8, 2023
The front and back cover of “Bitches Brew” designed by Mati Klarwein

I was a couple of months into my freshman year of college when I first listened to Miles Davis’ Bitches Brew. I always heard that this was one of those records that you needed to listen to, especially if you considered yourself a jazz buff. I distinctly remember queueing it up on Spotify, hitting play, and laying in bed while I listened to it. My initial verdict: Bitches Brew was confusing and a little uninteresting. The songs were extremely long and they required a lot of attention that I didn’t have, especially considering my short Gen-Z attention span. I believe that there are a lot of people in the same boat as I was on their first listen and are confused about the hype behind this album. Because of that, I decided to write about why people like this album to help newer listeners out. By the end, I hope I can shed new light on Bitches Brew and reinvigorate those who were maybe turned off to give it another listen!

Context

The late 60s and early 70s were a very important time in Miles Davis’ career. In an effort to stay hip with the times, Davis gradually experimented with electric instruments. In 1968, Miles Davis released his last fully acoustic album, Nefertiti. His next album, Miles In The Sky, featured three electric instruments: Herbie Hancock on electric piano, Ron Carter on electric bass, and George Benson on the…

--

--